Dynamic Telegraph
There is no term that characterises the German market as much as ‘dynamic’. Yet the market is complex, subject to many factors and, most importantly, multilayered. The latest Ziegert Report is therefore taking the bold step of applying a new perspective to German cities. We take a multidimensional look at market dynamics and observe market developments in relation to city developments. To this end, this report is introducing a new measurement: the Dynamic Telegraph. It juxtaposes transactions with the dynamic of the relevant city. What results is an important accompaniment for decision-making in the housing market.
journal.schwerpunkt.content.assets.0.question
How is the German market for condominiums developing? When it works, supply and demand match each other and produce transactions. A functioning market is constantly in motion and offers variety and perspective. No one is interested in a marketplace where stagnation is the order of the day. However, market dynamism is more than the result of individual factors and the frequently used, one-dimensional view. That is why we are adding a new point of view and focusing our gaze on more than prices or examining sales. We are moving to the meta level and stepping into the proverbial crow’s nest for you to compare transaction dynamism with city dynamism in our Dynamic Telegraph.

The Dynamic Telegraph is based on an engine order telegraph that acts as a device for communication between a ship’s engine room and its bridge. The nostalgic, maritime control of a telegraph and its characteristic presentation make it outstanding for illustrating the interplay of a city’s dynamic with its transaction dynamic. It is based on data specially collected, processed, put in context and analysed as part of a laborious research project conducted by the Ziegert Research team. The result provides insight into two things:

The transaction dynamic gives information about how the number of transactions for new-build housing marketed for the first time in 2018 should be judged when compared over a longer time span. We are interested in the momentum of the market. How has the number of transactions developed over the last three years? How does this compare with the median found in 5, 10, 15 and 20-year comparisons?

The city dynamic shows how dynamically a city has performed. The results of a city scoring prepared by ZIEGERT Research were used for this analysis. It draws on all relevant, fundamental data – demographic and socioeconomic as well as in terms of a city’s economic development.

The Dynamic Telegraph offers a unique opportunity to put the two dynamics beside each other and thereby reveal discrepancies, inconsistencies and parallel developments as well as point out potential. In particular, is the development of the studied market in keeping with the development of the city?

We want to invite readers to take a critical look without having to rely on typical explanations of patterns, for example, by justifying supposedly high prices as the cause of a particular effect. We look forward to engaging in a dialogue with you!
DYNAMIC TELEGRAPH
Telegraph Settings
CITY DYNAMIC: from 0 to 10
HIGH: 7-10 / MEDIUM: 3-7 / LOW: 0-3
TRANSACTION DYNAMIC: from FULL ASTERN to FULL AHEAD
FULL ASTERN: -200 to -100
HALF ASTERN: below -100 to -50
SLOW ASTERN: below -50 to -1
SLOW AHEAD: 1 up to just under 50
HALF AHEAD: 50 up to just under 100
FULL AHEAD: 100 to 200
* Apartment New Construction
Pictured example
CITY DYNAMIC: HIGH: 8
TRANSACTION DYNAMIC: SLOW ASTERN: -25
journal.schwerpunkt.content.assets.1.question
How to read the illustration

The settings for the Transaction Dynamic range from ‘full ahead’ (highly dynamic and therefore full steam ahead) to ‘full astern’(not dynamic and therefore back up). For Leipzig, a housing market still on its training wheels compared to the rest of Germany and possessing enormous potential for growth, the Transaction Dynamic indicates ‘half ahead’. In a more mature market such as Stuttgart, the transaction numbers have been sinking both currently and in previous years: ‘full astern’. The Transaction Dynamic forms a kind of propeller that only develops a good momentum when given the right commands from the bridge and when there are the right influences in the engine room.

In this case, the City Dynamic would be the ship’s bridge, which can see further than the propeller has so far driven. For example, if one were to look solely at the status quo, the economic environment and location quality, Munich would be the frontrunner. When assessed for dynamism on a scale of 1 to 10, this lead is lost due to weak sociodemographic development, leaving Munich in the middle for its city dynamic. Berlin, on the other hand, keeps developing at rapid speed in all areas and achieves a peak value of 7.70. The Dynamic Telegraph indicates ‘highly dynamic’.

You can find explanations in each City Spotlight and in the information box under each Telegraph.
Back To Top

Schwerpunkt
Dynamik
Kein Begriff prägt den deutschen Markt so sehr wie Dynamik. Doch dieser ist komplex und vielschichtig. Der neue Ziegert Report wagt daher eine neue Betrachtungsweise der deutschen Städte. Wir betrachten Dynamik mehrdimensional und setzen die Entwicklung des Marktes ins Verhältnis zur Entwicklung der Stadt. Dazu führt der Report eine neue Messmethode ein: den Dynamic Telegraph. Dieser stellt die Transaktionen der Städtedynamik gegenüber. Das Ergebnis ist ein wichtiger Wegbegleiter für die Entscheidungsfindung auf dem Wohnungsmarkt.
journal.schwerpunkt.content.assets.0.question
Wenn der Markt für Eigentumswohnungen funktioniert, treffen sich Angebot und Nachfrage und münden in Transaktionen. Ein funktionierender Markt ist ständig in Bewegung, bietet Vielfalt und Perspektiven. Niemand hat Interesse an einem Marktplatz, auf dem Stillstand herrscht. Die Marktbewegung ist jedoch mehr als ein Resultat einzelner Faktoren und der vorherrschenden eindimensionalen Betrachtung. Wir bringen eine neue Sichtweise ein und richten den Blick nicht nur auf Preise oder prüfen Umsätze. Wir begeben uns auf die Metaebene, steigen für Sie ins sprichwörtliche Krähennest und stellen mit unserem Dynamic Telegraph die Transaktions- der Städtedynamik gegenüber.

Der Dynamic Telegraph leitet sich von einem Maschinentelegrafen ab, der als Kommunikationsinstrument zwischen Maschinenraum und Schiffsbrücke dient. Das maritime Steuerelement eignet sich durch seine charakteristische Darstellung hervorragend, um das Zusammenspiel zwischen Stadt- und Transaktionsdynamik zu verdeutlichen. Es speist sich aus Daten, die in aufwendiger Forschungsarbeit durch das ZIEGERT Research Team gesammelt, aufbereitet, in Verhältnisse gesetzt und analysiert wurden. Das Ergebnis veranschaulicht zweierlei:

Die Transaction Dynamic gibt Aufschluss darüber, wie die Anzahl der Transaktionen auf dem Markt für Neubau-Eigentumswohnungen im Jahr 2018 im Zeithorizont-Vergleich zu bewerten ist. Wir interessieren uns für das Drehmoment im Markt. Wie hat sich die Transaktionsanzahl in den vergangenen drei Jahren entwickelt, wie steht diese im Verhältnis zum Mittelwert eines fünf-, zehn-, 15- sowie eines 20-jährigen Betrachtungszeitraumes?

Die City Dynamic verdeutlicht, wie dynamisch sich die Stadt entwickelt. Dafür wurden die Ergebnisse eines von ZIEGERT Research erstellten City Scorings verwendet. In dieser Analyse wurden alle relevanten Fundamentaldaten aus dem Bereich der Soziodemografie und -ökonomie sowie der Wirtschaftsentwicklung einer Stadt herangezogen.

Der Dynamic Telegraph bietet erstmals die Möglichkeit, diese beiden Dynamiken einander gegenüberzustellen und so Diskrepanzen, Unstimmigkeiten oder Parallelentwicklungen aufzuzeigen, aber auch Potenzial zu offenbaren. Insbesondere: Ist die Entwicklung auf dem betrachteten Markt im Einklang mit der Entwicklung der Stadt?

Wir wollen zu einer kritischen Betrachtung einladen, ohne in die üblichen Erklärungsmuster zu verfallen und zum Beispiel die angeblich hohen Preise als Ursache zu definieren. Wir freuen uns auf den Dialog mit Ihnen!
DYNAMIC TELEGRAPH
Einstellungen des Telegraphen
CITY DYNAMIC: von 0 bis 10
HIGH: 7-10 / MEDIUM: 3-7 / LOW: 0-3
TRANSACTION DYNAMIC: von FULL ASTERN bis FULL AHEAD
FULL ASTERN: -200 bis -100
HALF ASTERN: unter -100 bis -50
SLOW ASTERN: unter -50 bis -1
SLOW AHEAD: 1 bis unter 50
HALF AHEAD: 50 bis unter 100
FULL AHEAD: 100 bis 200
* Apartment New Construction
Visualisierungsbeispiel
CITY DYNAMIC: HIGH: 8
TRANSACTION DYNAMIC: SLOW ASTERN: -25
journal.schwerpunkt.content.assets.1.question
ZUR LESART DER GRAFIK

Die Skala der Transaction Dynamic reicht von „Full Ahead“ (volle Fahrt voraus, hohe Dynamik) bis zu „Full Astern“ (volle Fahrt zurück, niedrige Dynamik). Für Leipzig etwa, einen Wohnungsmarkt, der im Deutschlandvergleich noch in den Kinderschuhen steckt und enorme Wachstumspotenziale birgt, schlägt die Transaction Dynamic auf „Half Ahead“ aus. In einem reiferen Markt wie Stuttgart, den die Kessellage und damit Flächenmangel herausfordert, sinken die Transaktionszahlen retrospektiv und aktuell: „Full Astern“. Die Transaction Dynamic bildet quasi die Schiffsschraube, die nur unter den richtigen Kommandos der Schiffsbrücke und Einflüssen im Maschinenraum ein gutes Drehmoment entwickelt.

Die City Dynamic ist die Schiffsbrücke, die weiter blicken kann als die Schraube bisher antreibt. Würde man zum Beispiel lediglich den Status quo, das ökonomische Umfeld und die Qualität des Standorts betrachten, wäre München Spitzenreiterin. Auf einer Skala von 1 bis 10 in der dynamischen Betrachtung verpufft dieser Vorsprung allerdings aufgrund einer schwachen soziodemografischen Entwicklung: So landet München in der City Dynamic im Mittelfeld. Berlin wiederum entwickelt sich in allen Bereichen in rasantem Tempo weiter und erzielt einen Spitzenwert von 7,7: „High Dynamic“.

Erläuterungen finden Sie in den City Spotlights sowie in den Infoboxen unter dem Telegraphen.
Zurück nach oben